

Overview & Scrutiny Committee

MINUTES of the OPEN section of the Overview & Scrutiny Committee held on Saturday 20 May 2023 at 1.10pm at Southwark Cathedral, Montague Close, London Bridge, SE1 9DA

PRESENT: Councillor Ian Wingfield (Chair)

Councillor Irina Von Wiese Councillor Victor Chamberlain

Councillor Ellie Cumbo Councillor Laura Johnson Councillor Sunny Lambe Councillor Margy Newens Councillor Bethan Roberts

OFFICER SUPPORT:

Everton Roberts, Head of Scrutiny

1. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Suzanne Abachor, Jon Hartley and Chloe Tomlinson.

2. NOTIFICATION OF ANY ITEMS OF BUSINESS WHICH THE CHAIR DEEMS URGENT

There were no late items of business.

3. DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS AND DISPENSATIONS

There were no disclosures of interests or dispensations.

4. SCRUTINY ARRANGEMENTS FOR 2023-24

RESOLVED:

1. That the size and composition of the overview and scrutiny committee as agreed by council assembly – detailed below be noted.

Overview and Scrutiny Committee

	Labour (9)	Liberal Democrats (2)			
1.	Ian Wingfield (Chair)	Irina von Wiese (Vice-Chair)			
2.	Margy Newens	Victor Chamberlain			
3.	Chloe Tomlinson	Violer Griambenam			
4.	Ellie Cumbo				
5.	Suzanne Abachor				
6	Laura Johnson				
7	Sunny Lambe				
8	Jon Hartley				
9	Bethan Roberts				
Reserve	1	<u> </u>			
11000170					
	Labour (9)	Liberal Democrats (2)			
1.	Sarah King	Jane Salmon			
2.	Sandra Rhule	Rachel Bentley			
3.	Cleo Soanes				
4.	Sam Dalton				
5.	Andy Simmons				
6.	Sunil Chopra				
7.	Sam Foster				
8.	Esme Hicks				
9.	Vacancy				
Voting	co-optee places (4) (Able to	vote on Education Function related			
issues o					
1.	Church of England Diocese	Tbc			
	representative				
2.	Roman Catholic Diocese	Tbc			
	representative				
3.	Elected Parent governor	Tbc			
	representative x2				

Remit: As set out in paragraph 6.1 of the constitution, with specific scrutiny responsibility in respect of:

- Council's policy and budget framework
- Regeneration

- Human Resources and the council's role as an employer and corporate practice generally
- Customer access issues, including digital strategy, information technology and communications
- The council's equalities and diversity programmes
- 2. That scrutiny commissions be established as set out below for the 2023-24 municipal year, with the chairs and vice-chairs as listed. The Health and Social Care Scrutiny commission to be given responsibility for Health matters, and the Housing and Community Safety Scrutiny commission to be given responsibility for Crime and Disorder matters.

(Remits: Each commission will have within their remit, oversight responsibility for the areas reflected in their titles. Detail of the specific areas of responsibility to be drawn from the cabinet member portfolios following the meeting.

As and when required, the Overview and Scrutiny Committee may call upon a commission to undertake a piece of work that does not necessarily sit with another commission's identified remit of responsibility.)

Education and Local Economy Scrutiny Commission

	Labour (5)	Liberal Democrats (2)		
1.	Chloe Tomlinson (Chair)	Rachel Bentley (Vice-Chair)		
2.	Jason Ochere	Irina von Wiese		
3.	Joseph Vambe			
4.	John Batteson			
5.	Renata Hamvas			
Reserve	es			
	Labour (5)	Liberal Democrats (2)		
1.	Maggie Browning	Adam Hood		
2.	Bethan Roberts	Victor Chamberlain		
3.	Laura Johnson			
4.	Victoria Mills			
5.	Sunil Chopra			
Voting	Co-optee places			
1.	Church of England Diocese	Tbc		
	representative			
2.	Roman Catholic Diocese	Tbc		
	representative			
3.	Elected Parent Governor	Tbc		
	representatives x 2			

Non-Voting Co-optee places				
To be considered at discretion of the commission	the			

Environment and Community Engagement Scrutiny Commission

	Labour (5)	Liberal Democrats (2)			
1.	Margy Newens (Chair) Graham Neale (Vice-Chair				
2.	Cassandra Brown	David Watson			
3.	Leo Pollak				
4.	Reggie Popoola				
5.	Ketzia Harper				
Reserve	?S				
	Labour (5)	Liberal Democrats (2)			
1.	John Batteson	Rachel Bentley			
2.	Kimberly McIntosh	Adam Hood			
3.	Natasha Ennin				
4.	Gavin Edwards				
5.	Renata Hamvas				
Non-voting co-opted places					
	To be considered at the discretion of the commission				

Health and Social Care Scrutiny Commission

	Labour (5)	Liberal Democrats (2)				
1.	Suzanne Abachor (Chair)	Maria Linforth-Hall (Vice-Chair)				
2.	Richard Leeming	Nick Johnson				
3.	Esme Dobson					
4.	Sandra Rhule					
5.	Sam Dalton					
Reserve	Reserves					
	Labour (5)	Liberal Democrats (2)				
1.	Kath Whittam	David Watson				
2.	Naima Ali	Victor Chamberlain				
3.	Charlie Smith					
4.	Sunil Chopra					
4. 5.	Sunil Chopra Sabina Emmanuel					
	•					

Non Voti	ng C	o-opt	ed places			
	То		considered		the	;
discretion of the commission						

Housing and Community Safety Scrutiny Commission

	Labour (5)	Liberal Democrats (2)						
1.	Ellie Cumbo (Chair)	Emily Tester (Vice-Chair)						
2.	Barrie Hargrove	Jane Salmon						
3.	Esme Hicks							
4.	Sam Foster							
5.	Kim McIntosh							
Reserve	Reserves							
	Labour (5)	Liberal Democrats (2)						
1.	Portia Mwangangye	Hamish McCallum						
2.	Sam Dalton	Adam Hood						
3.	Joseph Vambe							
4.	Ketzia Harper							
5.	Cleo Soanes							
Non-voting co-opted places (3)								
1.	Tenants Forum	Tbc						
2.	Homeowners Forum	Tbc						
3.	Southwark Tenant Management	Tbc						
	Organisations Committee							
	Additional non-voting co-opted							
	places to be considered at the							
	discretion of the commission							

3. Nominations to Joint Health Overview and Scrutiny Committees

South East London Joint Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee (2 places)

Labour – Councillor Suzanne Abachor Liberal Democrats – Councillor Maria Linforth-Hall

Note: No work programme topics were put forward at this meeting.

The meeting ended at 1.13pm					
CH	AIR:				
DA	TED:				